Ride To Kimbolton..

This is the first ride I have written about here since October last year not that there have been many to write about in that time, given thats its been a long winter.  I have been keeping fairly up to date with short postings my Facebook page but the last report I made there was 21st April and this was the third ride since then.

Now the sun is shining its much more inviting to get out there, the temperature on my Garmin touched 29C today, albeit that wasn’t an in the shade temperature.  Fortunately I had applied some sun cream.

I bit off a bit more than I could chew when choosing the ride distance to step to as I ease myself into fitness.  It was longer than my previous longest ride this year by quite a long way.  I checked the wind direction before leaving and chose a loop based on Kimbolton because it would be headwind all the way there and therefore tailwind and easier all the way home.  The ride out there took more out off me than I expected so the homeward stretch was still quite tough even with a tailwind most of the way.

I stopped for a couple of caffeine tablets with about 20 miles still to go and that got me to the village Riseley where there is a small shop and I bought a cereal bar and a bottle of cold water.  I sat on the bench just over the road from the shop to refuel and recover a while, I tipped the remains of the water into my water bottle and set off again.  Everything I had taken in the way of replenishment began to kick in then and I got home fairly easily after that.  Having done that distance of 80km now I guess I have set a new benchmark for ride distance for a while until I increase it again.

Here a some pictures I took en-route.

The village of Yelden, typical of the kind of roads I was on today.

The village of Yelden, typical of the kind of roads I was on today.

Kimbolton, the high street is very similar to that of my home town Olney but not quite as long. Kimbolton school is at the far end of the picture.

Kimbolton, the high street is very similar to that of my home town Olney but not quite as long. Kimbolton school is at the far end of the picture.

Route Map..

Route Map..

 

 

3 thoughts on “Ride To Kimbolton..

Comments are closed.